top of page

Champion of Agriculture

The American Agri-Women (AAW) “Champion of Agriculture” award was initiated in 2010 to recognize members of Congress who have displayed exemplary courage in presenting and supporting legislation that promotes American agriculture, rural American lifestyles and the United States Constitution. Since 2010, this bi-partisan award has been presented to one House member and one Senate member each year*.

The Champion of Agriculture Award is awarded each June during AAW Fly-In in Washington DC.  To nominate a Senator or Representative for the award, please provide a letter of nomination stating the name of the member, their state, why the member deserves the award, supported by specific examples of their leadership in agriculture policy.  Nomination letters may include up to three additional pages of supporting material.

Past Recipients:

2010 Senator James Inhofe, OK & Representative Colin Peterson, MN

2011 Senator Pat Roberts, KS & Representative, Dennis Cardoza, CA

2012 Senator Debbie Stabenow, MI & Representative, Cynthia Lummis, WY

2013 Senator Susan Collins, ME & Senator John Thune, SD

2014 Senator Amy Klobuchar, MN & Representative Frank Lucas, OK

2015 Senator John Hoeven, ND & Representative Mike Conaway, TX

2016 Senator Heidi Heitkamp, ND & Representative Greg Walden, OR

2017 Senator Joni Ernst, IA & Representative Rodney Davis, IL

2018 Representative James Comer, KY & Representative Steve Pearce, NM

2019 Representative David Rouzer, NC & Representative Cheri Bustos, IL

Chief Champion of Agriculture – President Donald J. Trump

2020 Senator Charles Grassley, IA & Representative Jodey C. Arrington, TX

2021 Governor Kristi Noem, SD 

2022 Representative Doug LaMalfa, CA & Senator Joe Manchin, WV

bottom of page